公眾收費常見問題

一項新的“公共收費”法提案計劃於10月XNUMX日發布以徵求意見。如果您對擬議的“公共收費”法感到擔心或困惑,並有疑問,我們希望以下答案能解決您的問題。

1.哪些新提議的計劃將被考慮用於公共收費?

非緊急醫療補助(Medi-Cal); 營養補充計劃(SNAP)– CalFresh; Medicare D部分低收入補貼(用於處方藥); 住房援助,例如公共住房或第8節住房券和租金援助。 除了現金援助(SSI和TANF)和長期護理外,目前還考慮將其作為公共收費。

2.新法律何時生效?

將會有60天的意見徵詢期,該意見徵詢期將於9月60日結束。此後,將對意見進行審核,最終法律將以生效日期(可能再有120天)發布。 因此,新法律最早要到草案發表後XNUMX天才能生效。

3.我現在應該退出Medi-Cal,CalFresh和其他公共程序嗎?

否。法律頒布後,將研究上述公共程序的使用。 當前,法律沒有變化,因此在法律最終確定之前退出這些程序沒有任何優勢。

另外,如果您參加的Medi-Cal或CalFresh僅由加利福尼亞州資助,則可能不被視為公共費用。 答案更改時,我們將對其進行更新。

4.我是合法的永久居民(LPR)(我有綠卡),在新的公共收費法之後,我還能申請公民身份嗎?

是。 申請公民身份時不存在使用公共程序的問題或考慮。

5.我是難民。 新法律適用於我嗎?

不可以。關於公共收費的法律不適用於以難民身份來到美國的人。

6.該法律草案是否會影響所有人?

不。如果您是難民,庇護所,人口販運,家庭暴力或其他嚴重罪行的倖存者,則無需繳納公共費用。

7.現在是否有可能因使用公共程序而被驅逐出境?

是的,但這種情況非常罕見–僅在以下情況下:(1)您在移民後的頭五年內使用現金援助或長期護理;(2)您或您的擔保人被要求為使用的服務付費;以及(3)您或您的擔保人贊助商拒絕付款。

8.將來是否有可能因使用公共程序而被驅逐出境?

除了將現金補助和長期護理計劃擴展到包括Medicaid,SNAP,Medicare D部分補貼和住房援助計劃之外,當前提案中的驅逐出境標準沒有任何變化。 但是,美國司法部將來可能會更改驅逐出境標準。 更改時,我們將更新此答案。

9.我的律師告訴我,我不應該參加Medi-Cal或CalFresh之類的任何公共計劃。 我應該怎麼辦?

律師通常非常謹慎,尤其是在不確定的時期。 律師可能不熟悉這些程序的資格規則,並且可能不完全了解公共收費問題。 擬議中的法律規定,變更將不會追溯適用。 在法律最終確定之前,目前或過去使用援助計劃將不會被考慮用於移民目的。

10.我是合法的永久居民,當我從美國以外旅行回來時是否需要擔心公共費用?

與以前一樣,建議LPR不得在美國以外的地方旅行超過180天。 如果您在美國境外居住超過180天,則在新法律實施後,您可以被視為新進入者,並可以被視為公共事務。  像LPR一樣,將出國旅行限制在180天以內。

 11. 如果我使用公共程序,可以贊助我的家人嗎?

也許不吧。 贊助法律沒有改變。 您仍然可以請求將您的家人帶到美國。 但是,如果您正在使用公共程序,則可能無法提交“支持誓章”以表明您可以在經濟上支持它們。 您可能必須找到其他人來提交支持誓章。

12.我沒有證件。 如果我為我的孩子申請醫療補助,食品券或其他計劃,他們可以向移民執法部門報告我嗎?

不能。您在申請公共程序時共享的信息不能用於移民執法目的。 擬議的法律變更不會改變這一點。

如果您為孩子申請,則只需要提供有關孩子的移民身份的信息。 如果您沒有證件並代表兒童申請,則不應提供任何有關您自己的移民身份的信息。 您可能會說:“我沒有為自己申請健康保險(或食品券)。”

13. 有什麼我可以做的嗎?

是! 您可以向將反對這項擬議法律的數十萬民眾表達自己的聲音。 請告訴AHS工作人員您要發表評論以對此提議說不。 AHS還與全國數百個組織合作,以應對這一問題。

選擇你的語言:           English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
選擇你的語言:
選擇語言

Public Charge FAQ

The proposal of a new “public charge” law is scheduled to be published for comments on October 10. If you are worried or confused about the proposed “public charge” law and have questions, we hope the answers below can address your concerns.

1. What are the new proposed programs that will be considered for public charge?

Non-emergency Medicaid (Medi-Cal); Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) – CalFresh; Medicare Part D Low Income Subsidy (for prescription drugs); Housing assistance, such as public housing or Section 8 housing vouchers and rental assistance.  In addition to cash assistance (SSI and TANF) and long-term care that are currently are considered for public charge.

2. When will the new law take effect?

There will be a 60-day comment period that will end on December 9.  Afterwards, the comments will be reviewed and the final law will be published with an effective date – likely another 60 days.  Therefore, the new law will not take effect until, at the earliest, 120 days after the publication of the draft.

3. Should I get off of Medi-Cal, CalFresh and other public programs now?

No.  The law will look at the use of the above public programs after it is enacted.  Currently, there is no law change, so there is no advantage in dropping out of these programs until the law is final.

Also, if Medi-Cal or CalFresh that you participate is funded only by the state of California, it may not be considered for public charge.  We will update this answer when it changes.

4. I am a lawful permanent resident (LPR) (I have a green card), can I still apply for citizenship after the new public charge law?

Yes.  There is no question or consideration for using public programs when applying for citizenship.

5. I am a refugee. Will the new law apply to me?

No.  The law about public charge do not apply to someone who came to US as a refugee.

6. Does this draft law impact everyone?

No.  If you are a refugee, asylee, survivor of trafficking, domestic violence or other serious crimes, you are not subject to public charge.

7. Is there any chance that I can be deported for using public programs now?

Yes but it is very rare – only if (1) you are using cash assistance or long-term care within first five years after immigration, (2) you or your sponsor were asked to pay for services used and (3) you or your sponsor refused to pay.

8. Is there any chance that I can be deported for using public programs in the future?

There is no change to the deportation standards in the current proposal other than the expansion of programs to include Medicaid, SNAP, Medicare Part D subsidy and Housing Assistance programs in addition to cash assistance and long-term care.  However, US Department of Justice may make changes to the deportation standards in the future. We will update this answer when it changes.

9. My lawyer is telling me that I should not participate in any public programs like Medi-Cal or CalFresh. What should I do?

Lawyers are often very cautious, especially in a time of uncertainty. Lawyers may not be familiar with eligibility rules for these programs and may not fully understand public charge issues. The proposed law says that changes will not apply retroactively. Current or past use of assistance programs, before the law is finalized, will not be considered for immigration purposes.

10. I am a lawful permanent resident, do I have to worry about public charge when I’m coming back from traveling outside the US?

As before, LPRs are advised NOT to travel outside of the US for more than 180 days.  If you have been outside the US for more than 180 days, you can be treated as a new entrant and may be considered as a public charge after the new law is implemented.  As LPRs do now, limit your travel abroad to less than 180 days.

 11. Can I sponsor my family members if I use public programs?

Maybe not.  The law for sponsorship has not changed.  You can still petition to bring your family members to the US.  However, if you are using public programs, you may not be able to file an “affidavit of support” to show that you can financially support them. You may have to find someone else to file the affidavit of support.

12. I am undocumented.  If I apply for Medicaid, Food Stamps or other programs for my children, can they report me to immigration enforcement?

No. The information you share when you apply for public programs cannot be used for immigration enforcement purposes. The proposed law change does not change this.

If you apply for your child, you will only be required to provide information about your child’s immigration status. If you are undocumented and applying on behalf of a child, you should not provide any information about your own immigration status. You may say, “I am not applying for health insurance (or Food Stamps) for myself.”

13. Is there anything I can do?

Yes!  You can add your voices to the hundreds of thousands of people who will oppose this proposed law.  Please tell AHS staff you want to write a comment to say NO to this proposal.  AHS is also working with hundreds of organizations nationwide to fight this.