慶祝 TAAF AAPI 行動中心成立

Asian Health Services (AHS) 是一家健康、社會和宣傳服務提供商,自 1974 年以來一直自豪地支持奧克蘭的社區。 最近公佈的 每 亞裔美國人基金會 (TAAF) 選擇 AHS 作為奧克蘭 AAPI 行動中心,並作為在當地打擊反 AAPI 仇恨的實地中心。 AHS 是 TAAF 正在投資的三個 AAPI 行動中心之一——其他中心位於芝加哥和紐約市——所有這些中心現在都是 TAAF 反仇恨國家網絡的一部分。 您可以在最近閱讀有關網絡的更多信息 華盛頓郵報的故事.

5 年 2021 月 50,000 日,AHS 即將上任的 CEO Julia Liou 加入了 TAAF 和亞洲藝術博物館的 After Hope 研討會,就“歸屬的創意解決方案”進行了小組討論。 該小組由 TAAF 主席 Sonal Shah 主持,其中包括獲得普利策獎的記者兼 Define American 創始人 Jose Antonio Vargas 和灣區藝術家活動家 Christine Wong-Yap。 他們就公共藝術家、公共政策領袖和公共衛生從業者如何推進創造性的解決方案來建立歸屬感文化和保持我們社區的安全進行了引人入勝的討論。 Liou 談到了 AHS 如何通過理解歸屬感的更大背景來處理醫療保健和宣傳,以及 AHS 如何衡量成功是有多少人有權主張他們的醫療保健權利,以便他們能夠發揮最大的健康潛力。 實現該目標的一個關鍵部分是 AHS 提供語言服務,這些服務了解每年服務的 XNUMX 多名患者的文化背景。

在慶祝 TAAF AAPI 行動中心在奧克蘭成立的小組會議之後的招待會上,AHS 的 Julia Liou 和即將上任的主席 Thu Quach 和 TAAF 與許多貴賓一起參加,其中一位是舊金山第一位亞裔美國人 David Chiu市檢察官打趣說,“這相當於亞裔美國人漢密爾頓的房間,它會發生。” 當晚發言的有舊金山亞洲藝術博物館館長兼首席執行官徐傑博士; 奧克蘭市議會主席 Nikki Bas; 美國加州北區檢察官辦公室聯邦檢察官 Eric Cheng 和聯邦調查局的 Dave Andish; 與 AAPI 社區聯絡的司法部社區關係服務局的 Justin Wok 指出了在奧克蘭建立行動中心的重要性,以及 AHS 和 TAAF 之間的伙伴關係,以保護和支持我們的 AAPI 鄰居、家人和朋友。

其他著名的與會者包括有影響力的美籍華裔記者和活動家海倫·齊亞 (Helen Zia); SF State 的 Russell Jeung 教授,他帶頭 停止AAPI仇恨 項目; 亞太基金的 Audrey Yamamoto; 和全國亞太裔美國婦女論壇 (NAPAWF) 首席執行官 Sung Yeon Choimorrow。

要了解有關 AHS 和 TAAF 之間合作夥伴關係的更多信息,您可以觀看此視頻: 
選擇你的語言:           English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
選擇你的語言:
選擇語言

Celebrating the Launch of the TAAF AAPI Action Center

Asian Health Services (AHS) is a health, social, and advocacy services provider that has been proudly supporting communities in Oakland since 1974. It was recently announced that The Asian American Foundation (TAAF) selected AHS to serve as the Oakland AAPI Action Center and act as the on-the-ground hub for fighting anti-AAPI hate locally. AHS is one of three AAPI Action Centers TAAF is investing in — the others are in Chicago and New York City — and all of the centers are now part of TAAF’s Anti-Hate National Network. You can read more about the network in a recent Washington Post story.

On November 5, 2021, AHS’ incoming CEO Julia Liou joined TAAF and Asian Art Museum’s After Hope Symposium for a panel discussion on “Creative Solutions for Belonging.” The panel was moderated by Sonal Shah, TAAF President, and included Jose Antonio Vargas, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and Founder of Define American, and Christine Wong-Yap, Bay Area artist-activist. They had an engaging discussion on how public artists, public policy leaders, and public health practitioners are advancing creative solutions for building cultures of belonging and keeping our communities safer. Liou spoke on how AHS approaches health care and advocacy with an understanding of a larger context of what belonging means, and how AHS’s measure of success is how many people are empowered to assert their right to healthcare so they can reach their highest health potential. A key part of reaching that goal involves AHS providing in-language services that understand the cultural background of the over 50,000 patients served each year.

At the reception following the panel to celebrate the launch of the TAAF AAPI Action Center in Oakland, AHS’ Julia Liou and incoming President Thu Quach and TAAF were joined by many honorable guests, with one of them, David Chiu, San Francisco’s first Asian American city attorney, quipping that, “This is the equivalent of the Asian American Hamilton room where it’s going to happen.” Those who spoke that night, which included Dr. Jay Xu, Director and CEO of the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco; Nikki Bas, Oakland City Council President; Eric Cheng, a Federal Prosecutor for the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of California and Dave Andish from the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and Justin Wok from the Department of Justice Community Relations Service Agency who liaises with AAPI community, noted the importance of having an action hub in Oakland and the partnership between AHS and TAAF to protect and support our AAPI neighbors, families, and friends.

Other notable attendees were Helen Zia, influential Chinese-American journalist and activist; SF State’s Professor Russell Jeung, who spearheaded the Stop AAPI Hate project; Audrey Yamamoto from the Asia Pacific Fund; and Sung Yeon Choimorrow, CEO of The National Asian Pacific American Women’s Forum (NAPAWF).

To learn more about the partnership between AHS and TAAF, you can watch this video: 
Choose Your Language:           English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
Choose Your Language:
Select Language