亞健社認可世界艾滋病日

親愛的亞健社會員和社區民眾,

今天是世界艾滋病日,聯合國於 1987 年指定了這一天,以提高對全球艾滋病毒/艾滋病大流行的認識。在探討亞健社在當地艾滋病預防領域所起的作用之前,我想快速區分艾滋病毒和艾滋病之間的區別。眾所周知,HIV 是一種病毒,如果不及時治療,最終會導致稱為 AIDS 的疾病——類似於新型冠狀病毒如何導致稱為新冠肺炎 COVID-19 的疾病。雖然目前還沒有治愈 HIV 的方法,但自 1987 年以來,我們在 HIV 的治療方面取得了重要的進步。由於出色的治療選擇,HIV 現在已成為一種高度易於管理的診斷——治療非常有效,可以減少體內的病毒數量。身體到無法檢測到的地方,當某人無法檢測到時,他們就不可能將病毒傳播給另一個伴侶。我之所以做出這種區分,是因為仍然有很多污名,尤其是圍繞著艾滋病這個詞——事實上,由於治療選擇,艾滋病病例在美國非常罕見。因此,當我們紀念世界艾滋病日時,除了概述未來的戰鬥外,還必須記住我們在與艾滋病毒/艾滋病作鬥爭方面取得的進展。

我經常談到影響美國非裔和拉丁裔社區的艾滋病毒的明顯種族差異。雖然這些社區確實受到的影響最深(根據人口規模的新診斷來衡量),但也有數據表明 HIV 對亞太裔太平洋島民AAPI社區的獨特影響。事實上,亞太裔太平洋島民AAPI社區是美國唯一的少數族裔,相對於其人口而言,艾滋病毒傳播率持續上升。此外,與其他感染艾滋病毒的人相比,亞裔美國人接受某些醫療保健的可能性較小——59 名 AAPI 感染艾滋病毒的人中有 100 名亞裔美國人,而總體上 64 人中有 100 名感染艾滋病毒。據估計,亞裔艾滋病毒感染者中只有五分之四的人知道他們感染了這種病毒。不難找到促成因素,包括模範少數民族神話和亞裔美國人在流行病學研究(研究疾病如何傳播)中被低估。簡而言之,如果 AAPI 社區沒有一個席位讓 AAPI 社區談論我們的鬥爭,我們就不會結束艾滋病毒的流行。與 HIV 作鬥爭需要多種族和反種族主義歧視的反應,包括整個 AAPI 社區的公共努力,我很自豪能夠在 HCH4 部門領導一個多種族和多語言的 HIV 戰士團隊,其也是阿拉米達縣最強的護理聯繫率之一。

今年我們跨越了一個門檻——超過 100名艾滋病毒感染者在亞健社接受持續護理。 這證明了這些患者在亞健社各個級別(從 PSR 到 MA,再到護士和醫療服務提供者)所接受的護理質量。 11 月,亞健社醫師Macy Lieu和護士Connie Ta為患者提供了名為 Cabenuva 的新型長效艾滋病注射劑的第一針。這是艾滋病治療的變革。這是 HIV 治療的遊戲規則改變者,因為許多人都在為每天服用一粒藥而苦苦掙扎。亞健社是阿拉米達縣首批提供這種治療的社區衛生診所之一。

2022年來臨之際,亞健社將一如既往地在艾滋病的護理方面貢獻優質的服務。有關 HIV 對 AAPI 社區影響的更多信息,請點擊此處 疾病預防控制中心情況說明書謝謝您為抵抗艾滋病而戰鬥!

奮鬥中的你,

David Gonzalez (they/them)
亞健社
項目經理 - 艾滋病毒護理和預防

選擇你的語言:           English   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
選擇你的語言:
選擇語言

AHS Recognizes World AIDS Day

Dear AHS Community,

Today is World AIDS Day, a day designated by the United Nations in 1987 to raise awareness of the global HIV/AIDS pandemic. I want to quickly distinguish the difference between HIV and AIDS before exploring the role of Asian Health Services in the local HIV prevention landscape. As many of you already know, HIV is a virus that, when left untreated, can eventually lead to the disease called AIDS – similar to how the novel coronavirus can lead to the disease called COVID-19. While there is still no cure for HIV, we have made leaps and bounds in the treatment of HIV since 1987. HIV is now a highly manageable diagnosis thanks to excellent treatment options – the treatment is so effective that it can reduce the amount of virus in the body to where it becomes undetectable, and when someone is undetectable it is impossible for them to transmit the virus to another partner. I make this distinction because there is still so much stigma, especially surrounding the word AIDS – when in fact, AIDS cases are pretty rare in the United States thanks to treatment options. So when we commemorate World AIDS Day, it’s important to remember our progress in battling HIV/AIDS in addition to outlining the battles ahead.

I often speak to the stark racial disparities of HIV that impact the Black and Latinx communities in the United States. While it’s true that those communities are most deeply impacted (as measured in new diagnoses against population size), there is also data that speaks to the unique impact of HIV on the AAPI community. In fact, the AAPI community is the only racial minority in the US that continues to see a rise in HIV transmissions relative to their population. Moreover, compared to other people living with HIV, Asian Americans were less likely to have received some health care – 59 AAPI people living with HIV out of 100, compared to 64 out of 100 overall. And it is estimated that only 4 out of 5 Asian people living with HIV know that they have the virus. It’s not hard to find contributing factors, including the model minority myth and Asian Americans being undercounted in epidemiological studies (studying how diseases are transmitted). Simply put, we will not end the HIV epidemic without a seat at the table for the AAPI community to speak to our struggles. Battling HIV requires a multi-racial and anti-racist response that is inclusive of the struggles of the AAPI community at large, and I am proud to lead a multi-racial and multi-lingual team of HIV warriors at the HCH510 department, with one of the strongest linkage-to-care rates in Alameda County.

This year we crossed a threshold – over 100 patients living with HIV receiving ongoing care at AHS. This is a testament to the quality of care that those patients receive at every level of AHS – from the PSR, to the MA, to the nurses and the providers. On November 11, another threshold was crossed when Macy Lieu and nurse Connie Tan delivered the first dose of the new long-acting injectable HIV treatment called Cabenuva. This is a game-changer in HIV treatment, as many individuals struggle with taking a daily pill. AHS is among the first community health clinics in Alameda County to deliver this treatment.

As we approach 2022, I have no doubt that AHS will continue to demonstrate excellence in HIV care. For more information on the impact of HIV on the AAPI community, here is a CDC fact sheet. Thank you for the good fight!

Yours in the struggle,

David Gonzalez (they/them)
Asian Health Services
Program Manager – HIV Care and Prevention

Choose Your Language:           English   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
English   |   中文   |   한국어   |   ខ្មែរ   |   Tiếng Việt
Choose Your Language:
Select Language